Jump to content

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

I have a small amount of cash for an upgrade!


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 27 November 2011 - 12:09 PM

So I'm bored of how things are currently with my setup and I feel like it's upgrade time :P!!!!

So £130 spare, what to do??

I currently have :

Phenom II 3.2ghz - Bulldozer would be a pointless upgrade for me as I feel it's fine how it is.
Asus M5A97 - Just upgraded.
G-Skill 4GB - Ordered 4GB more. Corsair, I know it's a different brand but realistically I'm not going to notice any problems. IMO the whole get the same branded RAM is a marketing hype.
OCZ Agility 3 - Fine as it is although I will no doubt in the future get another to put into RAID 0.
Storage, I would like more but I'm not going to fork out the ridiculous costs.
NZXT M59 case - I would like one as mine's a bit tacky. The one I want in the Corsair 800D but that's WAY out of my price range @ £200!

Graphics card - I currently have a 5770. I would like a better card but I feel no games (apart from Battlefield 3) use my card to it's full capacity. All the games I play are console ports basically and it pisses me off to no end!!!!!!!!!

Screen. I was thinking a nice screen as my Packard Bell one I got on the cheap it starting to show it's age with the colours. Any recommendations? 19+ inch display, 1440x900 or higher only!

Anything else?

Thanks!
  • 0

#2 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12542 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 27 November 2011 - 01:16 PM

Get the same brand RAM is not always a marketing hype Mr Dan :D

What if the timings and voltages are completely different when you get your Corsair ? You can't tell the BIOS to run 2 modules at 1.5v 9-9-9-24 and two at 1.6v 9-11-9-28, yea you can drop the timings on the faster ones, but dropping the voltage on some or raising it on others might cause a new set of bluescreens for you to play with

If you buy another LCD @ 1080p - that 5770 won't be able to max much out anymore, so new monitor = new GPU too !

If it was me, I would sell the 5770, stick the $$$$ in with your £130 - buy a new GPU, then get a new LCD @ 1080p later
  • 0

#3 Franpa

Franpa

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 1340 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: QLD, Brisbane
  • Country:

Posted 27 November 2011 - 01:50 PM

Get a Nintendo Wii and Zelda: Skyward Sword :)
  • 0

#4 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 01 December 2011 - 02:42 PM

So in the end I opted for a new keyboard and mouse. I kinda went overboard but I don't regret it :P.

I bought the Microsoft Sidewinder X4 keyboard and the Microsoft Sidewinder X8. So far, the keyboard is a great! I love the orange backlit keys and the weight of the keys. The X8 Mouse is amazing as far as mice go! 1 Feature that is a complete winner is the rechargeable battery. It has the convenience with the wireless and the magnetic rechargeable wire is a brilliant innovation!!! Paid a total of £90 inc postage :pinch: :wacko: :D
  • 0

#5 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12542 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 01 December 2011 - 02:53 PM

Nice choice Mr Dan !
  • 0

#6 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 15 February 2012 - 02:45 PM

Just built a AMD Phenom ii x4 960T with 16gigs of ddr3 1280 60gig ssd drive 2tb drive for back up amd hd 6770 video card 100watt power suppl love it my lowest rating is 7.4 my video card lol

Attached Files


  • 1

#7 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 15 February 2012 - 03:44 PM

I hope you mean a 1000w power supply :P
  • 1

#8 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12542 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 15 February 2012 - 04:10 PM

Just built a AMD Phenom ii x4 960T with 16gigs of ddr3 1280 60gig ssd drive 2tb drive for back up amd hd 6770 video card 100watt power suppl love it my lowest rating is 7.4 my video card lol



Very nice, you beat me on some !

Posted Image
  • 0

#9 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 15 February 2012 - 05:14 PM

MUHAHAHA! Dave can't beat my 7.4 for the HDD :D

Posted Image

@taz1963 I guess you're using RAID 0 on 2 SSD's? That's my next step after a new graphics card!
  • 0

#10 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 15 February 2012 - 05:39 PM

yes I meant 1000w go ssd I got a Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 2.5" 60GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive of ebay for 85 with shipping have it in ahci mode and use the 2tb drive to store all my files just directed my pictures and music and documents to that drive so if the drive ever crashes I have all my files on the 2tb drive and all I do is reinstall windows then just direct everything to the 2tb drive

Edited by taz1963, 15 February 2012 - 05:40 PM.

  • 0

#11 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 27 February 2012 - 08:25 AM

Newegg has a ssd drive on sale for 79.99 then a 20 dollar mail in rebate in is a shell shoker deal only a 60 gig drive but if you turn off hibernation files you have alot of room I turned mine off after installing all my programs and still have 21gigs left
  • 0

#12 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 22 March 2012 - 03:40 PM

Just upgraded to the fx-8120 wowit is fast

Attached Files


Edited by taz1963, 22 March 2012 - 03:46 PM.

  • 0

#13 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 22 March 2012 - 03:53 PM

Posted Image
  • 0

#14 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12542 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 23 March 2012 - 01:33 AM

The competition is getting a little close for comfort now :P lol

Posted Image
  • 0

#15 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 23 March 2012 - 05:28 AM

Guess time for a new video card for me lol
  • 0

#16 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:53 AM

Posted Image

7.9 with the Unreleased Sapphire 7850 OC Edition :D Suck it biatches xD

My review here : http://www.neowin.ne...-edition-review
  • 0

#17 Brando212

Brando212

    Satan's little hacker

  • Star Member
  • 863 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: 4th Dimension
  • Country:
  • Interests: computers duh

Posted 23 March 2012 - 12:38 PM

Posted Image

7.9 with the Unreleased Sapphire 7850 OC Edition :D Suck it biatches xD

My review here : http://www.neowin.ne...-edition-review

wow maxed out score, mind loading up windows 8 CP? I'd be interested to see what that thing's score is on there
  • 0

#18 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 23 March 2012 - 12:41 PM

wow maxed out score, mind loading up windows 8 CP? I'd be interested to see what that thing's score is on there


Unfortunately there are no drivers for Windows 8 CP at the moment. I'll post if they appear in the next few days.
  • 0

#19 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 23 March 2012 - 01:59 PM

the nd 6870 gets 7.9 on windows 7 my friend has the card and that what he gets
  • 0

#20 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12542 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 24 March 2012 - 03:45 AM


Unfortunately there are no drivers for Windows 8 CP at the moment. I'll post if they appear in the next few days.



I reckon my CFX 6850s would still kick its ass in FPS :D lol

WEI doesn't run its GPU benchmark in fullscreen so it only tests 1 GPU
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users