Jump to content

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

What backup service do you use?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Kittyfuzz

Kittyfuzz

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 551 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Country:
  • Interests: GOD, Music, Computers

Posted 10 November 2010 - 05:03 PM

I use Mozy. Great for those who wnat large files. :)
  • 0

#2 999

999

    0x3E7

  • Root Admin
  • 3595 posts
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: Earth!!
  • Country:

Posted 10 November 2010 - 07:34 PM

Dropbox & Skydrive :)
  • 0

#3 chumly

chumly

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Star Member
  • 163 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 10 November 2010 - 11:56 PM

backup ... what is backup ... when you crash its just time to reinstall
  • 0

#4 Kittyfuzz

Kittyfuzz

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 551 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Country:
  • Interests: GOD, Music, Computers

Posted 11 November 2010 - 12:10 AM

If your hard drive dies and you lose almost 400GB of stuff, and you have no way of getting it back what would you do?
Backup first it happens. If you're forunate to own a UBS drive, you are safe it not, you are screwed.
  • 0

#5 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12528 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 11 November 2010 - 09:32 AM

I have 2 x 160GB drives that I copy stuff to that I dont want to lose, other than that, I have my 1TB main drive that I do lose stuff from when I format - I wish I had a bigger drive to backup to but if I did, I would use it as my main drive and I would be back in the same situation again lol
  • 0

#6 Scott1963

Scott1963

    Overclocker Extreme!

  • Super Moderator
  • 452 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Chicago
  • Country:

Posted 12 November 2010 - 05:28 AM

I use my extra terabyte drive as backup use windows 7 backup as system image love it takes about 2 hours for it to restore my pc from where I made my system image alot easier then reinstalling everything

Edited by taz1963, 12 November 2010 - 05:28 AM.

  • 0

#7 jamwheat

jamwheat

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Star Member
  • 114 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Parkersburg, WV
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, Reading

Posted 13 November 2010 - 06:23 AM

I use Win7 backup to a 350gb USB drive. Also have a couple extra 80gb drives I use to put stuff on. I am thinking about getting another USB drive (larger this time) and see how one does having Win7 installed on it. Just for "fun".
  • 0

#8 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 13 November 2010 - 07:19 AM

I use my 1TB WD My Book to back ALL my stuff up to. I also use SkyDrive on the rare occasion :)
  • 0

#9 rz_

rz_

    Geek of the Week

  • Exclusive Member
  • 370 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 10:20 AM

I'm using my 1TB Buffalo NAS for all my backup needs. Cloud storage is only for a few files I need on the go, everything else is local.
  • 0

#10 M_Taylor40

M_Taylor40

    Forum Loyalist

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 89 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: England
  • Country:

Posted 13 November 2010 - 10:35 AM

The only real backup I use is in my HTPC, got 2x 1.5TB Samsung F3s in a Mirrored RAID array so if one dies, I don't loose anything. When I get the spare cash and need the extra capacity I'll upgrade it to a 3x 1.5TB RAID5 but for now its enough.
On my desktop I have a 500GB hard drive that I use to store all my programs on, which I have backed up onto an external 320GB drive, but I only backup myself every so often, but if the 500GB died I wouldn't loose anything vital.
  • 0

#11 sagem

sagem

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • VIP
  • 1043 posts
  • Gender: Not Telling
  • Country:
  • Interests: !Bite Me!

Posted 13 November 2010 - 08:10 PM

i use 4 1tb ext usb drives for my backups and 1 internal 260gb drive for stuff i use like games and other stuff. online backup 2 DAM SLOW
  • 0

#12 witboy

witboy

    Scrub

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2010 - 06:08 AM

I use a server and the scheduled robocopy :)
  • 0

#13 Phoenix

Phoenix

    Owner of Phoenix Computer Systems

  • VIP
  • 887 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Lincolnshire, UK
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2010 - 07:47 AM

I have my Main OS in RAID 1 using 2 x 1TB Drives, My Movies Drive in RAID 1 using 2 x 1TB Drives, a 500GB Drive holding my Steam Backups and a 2TB Drive holding all my downloads and iso's and such.

Posted Image
  • 0

#14 Kevin Turcotte

Kevin Turcotte

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • 233 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Outside Portland, ME
  • Country:

Posted 15 November 2010 - 10:15 PM

I've learned my lesson. Used to only have 1 hard drive in my computer. It crashed, I lost everything. Put a new one in, 3 months later, another crash.From then on I've always had another hard drive in my computer. When I built I new computer, I stuck 4 hard drives in it. Everything important is on every drive. I also use Mozy so if they somehow ALL go (Lighting, theft), I can still get my stuff back.
  • 0

#15 rbytes

rbytes

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2010 - 08:17 AM

I use ZenOK Online Backup my business data needs to be backed up. That's why a service like ZenOK so relevant. it continuously updates any data that has changed since the last backup took place. They've saved my business data from total loss a bunch of times.
<br style=""> <br style="">


  • 0

#16 Sasa_RI

Sasa_RI

    Complete Newbie

  • Exclusive Member
  • 13 posts
  • Gender: Male

Posted 23 November 2010 - 11:50 AM

WHS (8 drives from 80 to 320GB) in the basement for 2 PC and HTPC
  • 0

#17 Franpa

Franpa

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 1340 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: QLD, Brisbane
  • Country:

Posted 23 November 2010 - 08:29 PM

I have 2 500 gigabyte hard drives so am thinking of taking the lazy route and getting a 500 gigabyte hard drive for more storage space and a 2 terabyte HDD for backup purposes. So I can just drag and drop everything from the 500 gigabyte drives to the 2 terabyte drive xD
  • 0

#18 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12528 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 24 November 2010 - 03:19 AM

I have 2 500 gigabyte hard drives so am thinking of taking the lazy route and getting a 500 gigabyte hard drive for more storage space and a 2 terabyte HDD for backup purposes. So I can just drag and drop everything from the 500 gigabyte drives to the 2 terabyte drive xD


If you have 2 x 500GB HDDs - Set up RAID 0 Dude !!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users