Jump to content

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Deactivate Windows 7?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 999

999

    0x3E7

  • Root Admin
  • 3595 posts
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: Earth!!
  • Country:

Posted 27 July 2009 - 07:22 AM

Is there any way I can deactivate Windows 7? As in, resetting the activation so I can activate again. I think I could use sysprep -reseal as well

Maybe there are some other files to look at though?

Thank you
  • 0

#2 Apocalypse

Apocalypse

    Very Important Person on THF Community

  • VIP
  • 3989 posts
  • Gender: Not Telling
  • Location: Microsoft Corporation
  • Country:

Posted 27 July 2009 - 07:41 AM

1) Start Command Prompt: Click the Start Menu Button Orb (On Lower left), In the Start Search Box, key in:

cmd

And RIGHT CLICK IT, and Run as Administrator.

You can also Manually open CMD, by going to: START> ALL PROGRAMS> ACCESSORIES> Command Prompt

And Run as Admin

2) Key in the following CAREFULLY:

slmgr.vbs -ipk 3YFJ7-3486F-7488V-3VDMF-2PJMW

Hit Enter

This key is a deactivated key from Microsoft, and does NOT work for activating

3) wait a few seconds to a minute to deactivate Windows 7.

4) Once you see a pop up related to deactivation, check and see if Windows is deactivated. Go to:

Start> Right Click Computer> Click Properties, on the bottom it should tell you a time Limit

Hope this help 999 :)

Note : please make SURE you are running an Administrative Account!

Edited by Shayla, 27 July 2009 - 07:45 AM.

  • 3

#3 999

999

    0x3E7

  • Root Admin
  • 3595 posts
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: Earth!!
  • Country:

Posted 27 July 2009 - 08:27 AM

Thanks Shayla, I will try that out later :)
  • 0

#4 E4MARK

E4MARK

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 19 November 2009 - 11:23 AM


Well this did not work:slmgr.vbs -ipk 3YFJ7-3486F-7488V-3VDMF-2PJMW



gives an error 'service responded invalid product key' or something to that effect , and the activation does not change.
So I tried:
slmgr.vbs -upk
Hit Enter
removed the existing key
and then tried another key:
slmgr -ipk D4F6K-QK3RD-TMVMJ-BBMRX-3MBMV
that gave some other bizarre error message
Now there is no key reported by windows control panel system, and service as unavailable.
We will see when I try and re-activate the COA Product Key again on reinstall

This key is a deactivated key from Microsoft, and does NOT work for activating



  • 0

#5 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12674 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 19 November 2009 - 11:30 AM

Just change product key should do it ?

Posted Image

Edited by Dave, 19 November 2009 - 11:48 AM.

  • 0

#6 Franpa

Franpa

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 1341 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: QLD, Brisbane
  • Country:

Posted 19 November 2009 - 11:50 PM

Well this did not work:slmgr.vbs -ipk 3YFJ7-3486F-7488V-3VDMF-2PJMW

Well then, change the key to match yours in the command and it will. Duh?
  • 0

#7 Loupax

Loupax

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 04 December 2010 - 12:37 PM

(First Post! YAY!)
Ahem, I was wondering, what happens if I lose my entire filesystem without deactivating? I can re-activate my windows upon reinstallation? Or there is no need for such thing as long as I install it on the same machine?

(Yes, I lost everything after a failed attempt to multiboot...)

Edited by Loupax, 04 December 2010 - 12:38 PM.

  • 0

#8 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12674 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 04 December 2010 - 05:38 PM

There is no need to deactivate, your next install will activate just as normal


If you have activated too many times with that key, Windows might require you to activate via phone, which is completely automated, (No speaking to real people involved)




Welcome to THF ;)
  • 0

#9 Loupax

Loupax

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:37 PM

Thanks for the reply!
  • 0

#10 Makcalable

Makcalable

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Glasgow
  • Country:

Posted 04 November 2011 - 04:36 PM

Hi guys, can someone just confirm when using the slmgr.vbs -upk command this will deactivate windows 7 but the product key will 'still' be a valid product key.... it won't get blacklisted from Microsoft?

The reason I am asking this is because I am hearing conflicting information where some folk are saying it will render the product useless and some saying the product key will still be valid.

Thanks
  • 0

#11 MrDan

MrDan

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

  • Administrator
  • 3532 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Ye old'e Anglia!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Computers, football (Chelsea FC).

Posted 05 November 2011 - 02:51 AM

I don't know on this method, but if you call MS Support they will activate a key if it's already been used. Just say "I have re-installed Windows on my same PC" and they should re-activate the Windows product key :)
  • 0

#12 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12674 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 05 November 2011 - 05:27 AM

Hi guys, can someone just confirm when using the slmgr.vbs -upk command this will deactivate windows 7 but the product key will 'still' be a valid product key.... it won't get blacklisted from Microsoft?

The reason I am asking this is because I am hearing conflicting information where some folk are saying it will render the product useless and some saying the product key will still be valid.

Thanks


Keys only get blacklisted if they become public, ie. leaked on the net.

If a key is activated beyond its allowed limit, you can just do as Dan says and called the Automated activation line and activate via telephone.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users