Jump to content

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Windows 98 SE /FE. help plox


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#21 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12599 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 19 December 2008 - 04:38 AM

I only get a 4.3 coz of me CPU but my graphics for aero get a 7.9 and for gaming get a 6.0 ! in win 7
  • 0

#22 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 19 December 2008 - 05:29 AM

nice... i want 7!!! REALY REALY BADD
  • 0

#23 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12599 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 19 December 2008 - 05:31 AM

Why cant you download it? Do you have a small allowance or will it just take too long?
  • 0

#24 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 19 December 2008 - 06:48 PM

Mate i went to download it....

then i got the E.T.A. It sayd it would take 3 years!!! =\

so im like nah stuff this.. and gave up... looks like ima gunna have to purchase it when its finaly released. (or leach of somones wifi)

AND dad wont take me to maccas to use up their bandwith
  • 0

#25 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12599 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 19 December 2008 - 07:22 PM

Wont some kind person in here living not too far away from you post you a copy? hint hint people!
  • 0

#26 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 19 December 2008 - 07:56 PM

:P lol dave good one...

i could allways download at school :P

but schools out for the summer!
  • 0

#27 7dude

7dude

    The Hotfix Lead Developer

  • VIP
  • 1512 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 19 December 2008 - 09:03 PM

erm, summer?

i thought it was winter??
  • 0

#28 Neo-Tech

Neo-Tech

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • 178 posts
  • Location: At home!
  • Country:
  • Interests: Technology, Gadgets, Solving Technical Problems, Gaming

Posted 20 December 2008 - 02:10 AM

LOL :owned:
  • 0

#29 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 20 December 2008 - 02:43 AM

erm, summer?

i thought it was winter??



Australia... Compleetly Different to the rest of the world :P

the area im in... WE DONT EVEN GET SNOW IN WINTER
  • 0

#30 lhuser

lhuser

    Forum Loyalist

  • Member
  • 58 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 21 December 2008 - 07:00 AM

Well that sucks! That's all the magic of holidays/Winter. Let me guess, you're still in the 20s as well?

As far for downloading 7, I assume that's because you run dial-up?
  • 0

#31 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:44 PM

No Not Running dialup... DSL....

hehe 256K/s

badddddd


annd the ohter day i was downloading at 56b/s

:o

Capped:P
  • 0

#32 Dave

Dave

    Zero Tolerance

  • Root Admin
  • 12599 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK
  • Country:

Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:51 PM

Yea lately I have been d/l`ing @ bytes per second, its doing me head in!
  • 0

#33 rloew

rloew

    Leecher

  • Exclusive Member
  • 3 posts
  • Gender: Male

Posted 21 December 2008 - 09:50 PM

*Update* I just got the BSOD... It Says:

Your multi-function device Standard Dual PCI IDE Controller) has some child devices using 32-bit drivers and others using compatibility-mode drivers. This configuration is not supported so your computer has been halted to prevent corruption.After you restart your computer, Windows will use compatibility-mode drivers for each child device attached to this multi-function device. If you want to use 32-bit drivers, you may be able to obtain an updated driver for the device that caused the problem by contacting your hardware manufacturer, or you can disable the devicePress any Key to continue

So i press enter...

BAMM it is now safe to turn off your computer...

ROFL
How i missed the bsod.

*And now its lagging again*


This usually occurs if you have both PATA and SATA Hard Drives connected to your Motherboard.
  • 0

#34 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 22 December 2008 - 01:52 AM

ok... i only got IDE connected to my mobo... nothing else....

unfortuantly i dont have a sata hdd as of yet... saving up and will get it when i get more rammmmmm...

then ill get a 22inch monitor to go with it...

but yeh i only havee IDE...:S its a 220gb i think..:P

( i got that many hdd's lying around its hard to keep track of what ones what)
  • 0

#35 tomw

tomw

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Country:

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:22 AM

Yes The Cd Is Bootable...
Im starting the pc with cdrom support

Both CD's Are windows 98... One is First Edition And theother IS Second Edition.

I have No E Drive... i dont understand why


... Well, unless you created the CD yourself, and made it bootable, it is not. It was when XP was new that the distribution became bootable.
tom
  • 0

#36 Xevious Sylar

Xevious Sylar

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • Others: Exclusive Member
  • 219 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Hoppers Crossing
  • Country:
  • Interests: Employed as a TSSP for the DEECD

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:10 AM

... Well, unless you created the CD yourself, and made it bootable, it is not. It was when XP was new that the distribution became bootable.
tom



Mate... It was a iso image created by my mate... it works fine in virtual pc and it has all the propper files (windows 98 *Ninety Eight*)
it is a working cd.
  • 0

#37 rloew

rloew

    Leecher

  • Exclusive Member
  • 3 posts
  • Gender: Male

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:32 PM

ok... i only got IDE connected to my mobo... nothing else....

unfortuantly i dont have a sata hdd as of yet... saving up and will get it when i get more rammmmmm...

then ill get a 22inch monitor to go with it...

but yeh i only havee IDE...:S its a 220gb i think..:P

( i got that many hdd's lying around its hard to keep track of what ones what)



Windows 98 does not support Hard Drives over 137GB unless you have a Patched driver.
Otherwise you may be corrupting your Hard Drive.

If you exceed 1GB of RAM you will need another Patch
  • 0

#38 chumly

chumly

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Star Member
  • 163 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Country:

Posted 12 April 2009 - 01:54 AM

Hey everyone

I need some help installing windows 98... LOL

I wanna try it out on a real computer environment.


So the error i get after i put BOTH disks into the drive is

Device driver not found: 'OEMCD001'
No Valid CDROM Device Drivers Selected.

The windows 98 Setup files were not found.

a:\> (the thing is i dont have An A drive...)

The only two drives avalable to me are a/c

Somone wanna help me out here?

*Cracked 98 Files Worked Fine On VPC*


rember you can only have 1gb ram in 98!!!!
there is a fix to an ini file on microsoft.com
just edit it with edit (after booting to command prompt


THIS GOES IN SYSTEM.INI:
- Start/Run/Sysedit
- Select System.ini window
- Search for existing VCACHE line
- Replace that with lines below

[vcache]
minfilecache=0
maxfilecache=524288



Hey everyone

I need some help installing windows 98... LOL

I wanna try it out on a real computer environment.


So the error i get after i put BOTH disks into the drive is

Device driver not found: 'OEMCD001'
No Valid CDROM Device Drivers Selected.

The windows 98 Setup files were not found.

a:\> (the thing is i dont have An A drive...)

The only two drives avalable to me are a/c

Somone wanna help me out here?

*Cracked 98 Files Worked Fine On VPC*


rember you can only have 1gb ram in 98!!!!
there is a fix to an ini file on microsoft.com
just edit it with edit (after booting to command prompt


THIS GOES IN SYSTEM.INI:
- Start/Run/Sysedit
- Select System.ini window
- Search for existing VCACHE line
- Replace that with lines below

[vcache]
minfilecache=0
maxfilecache=524288

and in the [386Enh] section add

MaxPhysPage=40000
  • 0

#39 Andrew

Andrew

    I am a

  • Banned
  • 1390 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Melbourne VIC
  • Country:
  • Interests: I.T

Posted 12 April 2009 - 03:07 AM

I have a OEM CD of Win 98 SE, i can upload it if u want?

#40 Franpa

Franpa

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 1340 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: QLD, Brisbane
  • Country:

Posted 12 April 2009 - 04:09 AM

1) you expected Windows 98 to support NTFS partitions? (hence why only some drives were listed in Windows 98)

2) you expected it to run well without motherboard drivers? (as pointed out, motherboard manufacturers don't develop drivers for legacy operating systems.)

3) A:\ drive is not always reserved for floppy drives, it is used for both floppy and CD but floppy gets priority if a floppy drive is present.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users