Jump to content

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Where can I download the latest xp sp3 5503?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 jhmac77

jhmac77

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 March 2008 - 10:22 AM

I have been looking all over for 5503 sp3 not the Pro WinXP but the sp3 alone? Can't find it only the Pro over 600 mb material which I cannot use.

Please help.

Jim
  • 0

#2 Archer1978

Archer1978

    Geek of the Week

  • Exclusive Member
  • 262 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK, Newcastle
  • Country:
  • Interests: If in Doubt, giz a shout!

Posted 25 March 2008 - 10:48 AM

I have been looking all over for 5503 sp3 not the Pro WinXP but the sp3 alone? Can't find it only the Pro over 600 mb material which I cannot use.

Please help.

Jim


You can downlaod the installer from this torrent from here.

http://www.thehotfix...showtopic=19136

But why download it it is classed as a beta and SP3 Final will be here in 2 - 3 weeks!
  • 0

#3 jhmac77

jhmac77

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 March 2008 - 11:12 AM

You can downlaod the installer from this torrent from here.

http://www.thehotfix...showtopic=19136

But why download it it is classed as a beta and SP3 Final will be here in 2 - 3 weeks!


I was told by a Philopino tech of Microsoft it would be available in March. I have seen all kinds of promises and it still is not here.

I tried that link and I have used it once today and it was a bad download.

Jim
  • 0

#4 Archer1978

Archer1978

    Geek of the Week

  • Exclusive Member
  • 262 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK, Newcastle
  • Country:
  • Interests: If in Doubt, giz a shout!

Posted 25 March 2008 - 11:43 AM

I was told by a Philopino tech of Microsoft it would be available in March. I have seen all kinds of promises and it still is not here.

I tried that link and I have used it once today and it was a bad download.

Jim


It has been delayed till April!

Edited by Archer1978, 25 March 2008 - 11:43 AM.

  • 0

#5 jhmac77

jhmac77

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Country:

Posted 25 March 2008 - 01:24 PM

It has been delayed till April!



MSFT has always said that XP SP3 would be out sometime in the first half of 2008. That would be by 30 June 2008.
  • 0

#6 Archer1978

Archer1978

    Geek of the Week

  • Exclusive Member
  • 262 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK, Newcastle
  • Country:
  • Interests: If in Doubt, giz a shout!

Posted 25 March 2008 - 01:45 PM

MSFT has always said that XP SP3 would be out sometime in the first half of 2008. That would be by 30 June 2008.


Look its coming out in april its all over the net, use google before posting crap!
  • 0

#7 PORTOS_PT

PORTOS_PT

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • 217 posts
  • Location: Coimbra
  • Country:
  • Interests: FUTUR

Posted 25 March 2008 - 03:30 PM

Updated!
Microsoft Direct link as leacked
http://livebetas.net...-links-leacked/
  • 0

#8 Kittyfuzz

Kittyfuzz

    TheHotfix Addicted

  • Premium Sponsor
  • 551 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Country:
  • Interests: GOD, Music, Computers

Posted 25 March 2008 - 03:54 PM

Error 404 not Found

Edited by Kittyfuzz, 25 March 2008 - 03:55 PM.

  • 0

#9 PORTOS_PT

PORTOS_PT

    Hardcore Nerd

  • Member
  • 217 posts
  • Location: Coimbra
  • Country:
  • Interests: FUTUR

Posted 25 March 2008 - 04:05 PM

sorry!
http://livebetas.net...-links-leacked/
  • 0

#10 Berlin2

Berlin2

    Scrub

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 25 March 2008 - 06:51 PM

Tried out XP SP3 5508 on my dual boot setup, XP & Vista, & got an interesting error message:

The core system file (kernel) used to start this computer is not a Microsoft Windows file. The Service Pack will not be installed. For more information, see Knowledge Base article Q327101 at [url="http://support.microsoft.com.""]http://support.microsoft.com."[/url]

The MS article is not available at the MS site, but a google search threw up a few interesting links. It seems that the Vista boot manager is not being recognised by the SP3 installer.
  • 0

#11 999

999

    0x3E7

  • Root Admin
  • 3595 posts
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: Earth!!
  • Country:

Posted 25 March 2008 - 07:12 PM

Tried out XP SP3 5508 on my dual boot setup, XP & Vista, & got an interesting error message:

The core system file (kernel) used to start this computer is not a Microsoft Windows file. The Service Pack will not be installed. For more information, see Knowledge Base article Q327101 at [url="http://support.microsoft.com.""]http://support.microsoft.com."[/url]

The MS article is not available at the MS site, but a google search threw up a few interesting links. It seems that the Vista boot manager is not being recognised by the SP3 installer.


So SP3 dont work with Vista bootloader?
  • 0

#12 Berlin2

Berlin2

    Scrub

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 25 March 2008 - 07:27 PM

My guess is that SP3 5508 does not work with the official Vista Boot manager that hijacks the boot up when u dual boot with XP.

I am also using a 'unofficial' boot loader, BootMgr Installer v1.0.3 , to get an OEM activation on Vista, but I disabled it & tried the XP SP3 install a second time & got the same Q327101 error. However, I only disabled the BootMgr Installer v1.0.3 by manually doing what the uninstall-cmd script does, and did not reboot. But really, the most likely culprit, imho, is the official Vista boot manager that kicks in when u set up a dual boot system.
  • 0

#13 jhmac77

jhmac77

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Country:

Posted 26 March 2008 - 04:24 AM

My guess is that SP3 5508 does not work with the official Vista Boot manager that hijacks the boot up when u dual boot with XP.

I am also using a 'unofficial' boot loader, BootMgr Installer v1.0.3 , to get an OEM activation on Vista, but I disabled it & tried the XP SP3 install a second time & got the same Q327101 error. However, I only disabled the BootMgr Installer v1.0.3 by manually doing what the uninstall-cmd script does, and did not reboot. But really, the most likely culprit, imho, is the official Vista boot manager that kicks in when u set up a dual boot system.


There is a new official MS file build 5508 out available for MS Windows Update. Get it directly at this link:

Here="http://www.download....ec857f4095.exe"

It is 316 mb.
  • 0

#14 Berlin2

Berlin2

    Scrub

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 26 March 2008 - 05:44 AM

yep, thats the one I got from the PORTOS_PT link. I could d/load again, perhaps.

However, I am still guessing at the source of the Q327101 error, cause I have not completely removed the BootMgr Installer v1.0.3 OEM Vista loader on my dual boot setup. And the google links concerning this error were all from people who had trouble with XP SP1 & 2 some years ago, meaning that there could be another app in the XP startup, such as Kerio firewall for example, that is generating the Q327101 error.
  • 0

#15 Archer1978

Archer1978

    Geek of the Week

  • Exclusive Member
  • 262 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: UK, Newcastle
  • Country:
  • Interests: If in Doubt, giz a shout!

Posted 26 March 2008 - 06:36 AM

According to TechNet 5508 is just another RC build release!
  • 0

#16 Dwarden

Dwarden

    Complete Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Country:

Posted 26 March 2008 - 08:48 AM

any1 was able do 3311 to 5508 update? i read that version 5508 seems not support build2build updating (IMHO that suck badly)
  • 0

#17 lil

lil

    Peruser

  • Member
  • 39 posts

Posted 26 March 2008 - 09:35 AM

many thanks for the link to sp3 v5508..

and there was me thinking v5503 was the last build so far..
  • 0

#18 Berlin2

Berlin2

    Scrub

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Location: UK

Posted 26 March 2008 - 03:49 PM

Q327101 Error Solved: I did some drilling thru google links on this error & many people had reported that various theme setups in XP can throw up this error.

I had recently themed-up my XP to look like Vista & included a retro monochrome boot screen via TuneUp Utilites, as well as adding the Thoosje Sidebar. The rest was just screen, dialog & icon theme changes.
So....I restored the default XP boot screen via TuneUp Utilities & disabled the sidebar loadup just in case, and SP3 5508 went on OK.

So....no problem with the official Vista boot loader & no problem with the unofficial OEM boot loader for Vista on my dual boot setup.

The retro boot screen installed with Tuneup Utilities was the likely culprit.
  • 0

#19 Farquard

Farquard

    Bah... HUMBUG!

  • Super Moderator
  • Others: Ultimate Sponsor
  • 2684 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Sol-Sector: EARTH
  • Country:
  • Interests: Model Railroading, Auto Racing, Photography, Graphic Imaging, Science Fiction, Cooking

Posted 29 March 2008 - 08:21 PM

any1 was able do 3311 to 5508 update?


After reading your posting, I gave it a try. No problem at all.
  • 0

#20 wbiberthomsen

wbiberthomsen

    Leecher

  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Location: Germany
  • Country:

Posted 11 April 2008 - 03:43 AM

Where is 5600 the final?
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users