Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums

Welcome to TheHotfix.net Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of TheHotfix.net Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

motherboard change how to boot cloned drive

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rockman123

rockman123

Complete Newbie

• 7 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 07:40 PM

have a msi board with an oem mce2005 sp2 installed. have cloned the hard drive with acronis- have bought new asus m3a32 deluxe motherboard 5000+ black edition athalon processor and the problem of course is the clone will not boot almost for sure- will need to do a repair install to clean the hardware configuration and then perhaps the drive will boot.my problem is i only have the 5 cd's recovery disk i was allowed to burn. i have read that simply using xp pro will not work setup ini file in the 1386 folder does not match and install or repair install will hang on the serial number. i was hoping someone had encountered this same problem and could offer a solution. as it stands i think i need to either nlite my 5 cds to try and create a bootable iso, cant find a working guide to do this only a vista solution, or find a 2005mce and change the pid number to match my oem and us my valid key, anyway if somebody has chanced upon a working solution would much appreciate the input.

#2 Rat boy

Rat boy

PEBKAC

• Banned
  • 311 posts

Posted 09 July 2008 - 05:15 PM

I know this is old, and probably resolved for you fella, but would appreciate info myself, after going through the same pain...